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TRADESMAN PLUMBER-LIMITED EXAMINATION - IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

 
Minimum requirements for Tradesman Plumber-Limited examination: 

• Must have a current Texas Plumber’s Apprentice registration. 
• Must have accumulated at least 4,000 hours of experience working at the trade:  

o during the period in which the applicant was registered with the Board as a Plumber’s 
Apprentice, and  

o under the direct supervision of a licensed plumber and general supervision of a Responsible 
Master Plumber, or 

o have a valid Journeyman or Master Plumber license from another state and at least 4,000 
hours of experience working at the trade under the general supervision of a Master 
Plumber.   

o Proof of experience must be submitted on the Board’s “Employer’s Certification Form”. 
• If licensed in another state, applicant must submit a letter on official letterhead from that state 

licensing authority stating that the individual has a valid Journeyman or Master Plumber License 
from that state. The letter must also include the length of time the license has been held, whether 
or not the license is renewable, and whether or not the person has any complaints or disciplinary 
actions against them in that jurisdiction. 

• Must have proof that the applicant is a citizen or national of the United States, or an alien lawfully 
admitted to the United States for permanent residence, or an alien authorized to work lawfully in 
the United States.  Proof must be provided with application. 

• Must submit non-refundable Tradesman Plumber-Limited Examination application fee ($36). 
• Effective February 1, 2010, must have completed 24 hours of Board approved classroom 

training as required by Board Rule Sec. 363.12, unless the applicant is enrolled in good 
standing with or completed a Plumber’s Apprentice program approved by the United States 
Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship. A list of providers of the 24 hour classroom training 
is posted on the Board’s website at www.tsbpe.texas.gov. Proof of the 24 hour training or Dept. of 
Labor approved program must be provided with the application. 

 
An overview of the Tradesman Plumber-Limited examination, an explanation of how to prepare for 
the examination and sample questions are provided in detail in the:  
 

• Tradesman Plumber-Limited Examination Review Course and may be downloaded free of 
charge at www.tsbpe.texas.gov under “Applications and Forms.” 

• For verification of plumbing training obtained in the military, call 512-936-5250 
 
Your Identity Will be Verified:   
Current (not expired) photographic identification, such as a driver license or state issued identification, will 
be required from the applicant on the day of the examination and must be verified before the examination 
begins. 
 
Training Periods for Examination Failures:  Board Rule Sec. 363.9 requires the following training 
periods for any examination failure (all or part):  (1) First failure: a 30-day training period, (2) Second 
failure: a 60-day training period, (3) Third and subsequent failures: a 90-day training period. 
 
Americans with Disabilities Act:  The TSBPE offers reasonable accommodations for persons taking the 
examination, as required by the Americans With Disabilities Act. If you require special accommodations, 
please make such requests in writing and submit with your application for examination. 
 
Equal Opportunity Statement: The Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not discriminate on 
the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age or disability in employment or the provision of 
services.                     
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TRADESMAN PLUMBER-LIMITED EXAMINATION APPLICATION                            Revised August 2014 
 
1.  Date _______________  ►Incomplete applications expire one year from receipt.  See instructions in #11, below. 
 
2.  Last name (Print) __________________________________  First _________________________  MI  _______ 
 
3.  Mailing address _______________________________________________  City _________________________ 
 
4.  State _______________ Zip Code _________________ Date of birth ____________________ Age _________ 
 
5.  Driver’s License/ID No. __________________________  Social Security No. ____________________________ 
Disclosure of your social security number is required. Your social security number is being solicited pursuant to Texas Family Code Section 231.302 
for use by the state’s Title IV-D  agency to assist in the administration of laws relating to child support enforcement under 42 U.S. C Sections 601-617 
and 651-669. 
 
6. TX Plumber’s Apprentice Reg. # ____________ or Out-of-State License # __________ issued by State of _____ 
 
7. Home Tel. #  __________________ Mobile Tel. # ____________________ Email ________________________ 
 
8. Employed by  _________________________________________  Employer Tel. # _______________________ 
 
9. Please indicate (by checking below) if you are requesting to take the complete examination in Austin or the written 
portion only of the examination in El Paso or Harlingen: 

 Austin, Texas – Complete three part examination given on one day or one part for reexamination. 
 El Paso, Texas – Written portion only, with the final two portions taken in Austin, Texas at a later date. 
 Harlingen, Texas - Written portion only, with the final two portions taken in Austin, Texas at a later date. 

 
10.  Have you ever been convicted of a felony in this or any other state? 
Yes    or   No   If you answer yes to this question, you must submit a Supplemental Criminal History Information Form 
and all documentation listed on page 2 of the Form with this application.  The Supplemental Criminal History Information 
Form available on the TSBPE website at www.tsbpe.texas.gov  (Applications and Forms). 
 
11. Check the following boxes as you include the items which must be submitted with this application in 
order for the application to be considered complete.  Your application will not be processed unless all items 
are submitted.  
 Non-refundable examination application fee of $36 (cashier’s check, money order, or personal or company check). 
 Proof that the applicant is a citizen or national of the United States, or an alien lawfully admitted to the United 

States for permanent residence, or an alien authorized to work lawfully in the United States.  Applicable proof 
includes any of the following: (1) a certified copy of your birth certificate issued by a city/county/state/federal 
certifying authority (if born in the United States); or (2) a certified copy of your Consular Report of Birth (if born 
abroad to a U.S. citizen/parent); or (3) a legible copy of both sides of your Certificate of Naturalization or 
Certificate of Citizenship (if a naturalized U.S. citizen); or (4) a legible copy of both sides of the U.S. Immigration 
and Naturalization Service document evidencing your current status (if a permanent resident alien or an alien 
authorized to work lawfully in the United States, or any other status).  Foreign birth certificates are not accepted. 

 Legible copy of current photographic identification issued by the State of Texas or another state or jurisdiction. 
 Proof of 4,000 hours of experience submitted on the Board’s Employer’s Certification Form. 
 Supplemental Criminal History Information Form and required documents (if you answered “yes” to #10) 
 If licensed in another state, submit official verification letter from the agency which issued the license. 
 Effective Feb. 1, 2010, certificate of completion of 24 hours of classroom training from an approved Course 

Provider, or certificate of completion of U.S. Dept. of Labor Apprenticeship program (Board Rule 363.12). 
   YES or  NO Are you an active or inactive military service member?  
      (for verification of plumbing training obtained in the military, call 512-936-5250) 

 
12.  BY SIGNING BELOW, I TESTIFY THAT I UNDERSTAND THAT SUBMITTING ANY FALSE INFORMATION 
TO THE BOARD IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE AND WILL ALSO RESULT IN DISCIPLINARY ACTION, UP TO AND 
INCLUDING REVOCATION OF MY PLUMBING LICENSE OR REGISTRATION AND AN ADMINISTRATIVE 
PENALTY UP TO $5,000.00. 

 ___________________________________________ 
        Signature of applicant 
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx  
TSBPE USE ONLY                             
                                 Fee________________________________________ File No._________________________ 
 
1. SCHED: ________________[____]  2. SCHED: ________________[_____]  3. SCHED: _______________[_____] 


