License/Registration Search Online Services Applications and Forms Renewal Information Examination/Registration Info
CPE & Continuing Education Complaints/Enforcement Consumer Information Plumbing License Law/Board Rules Open Meetings
Board Members Links to other sites Agency Reports Employment Provider Login

The Texas Railroad Commission implemented a rule, effective September 1, 2005, which affects plumbers and plumbing companies who perform liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) installations and repairs. The highlights of the rule include:The Texas Railroad Commission implemented a rule, effective September 1, 2005, which affects plumbers and plumbing companies who perform liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) installations and repairs. The highlights of the rule include:

  • Journeyman and Master Plumbers who engage in LPG installations and repairs must register with the Texas Railroad Commission
  • Enforced, $2,000 administrative penalty from the Texas Railroad Commission to anyone who performs LPG work without being registered with the Texas Railroad CommissionEnforced, $2,000 administrative penalty from the Texas Railroad Commission to anyone who performs LPG work without being registered with the Texas Railroad Commission
  • Journeyman and Master Plumbers with a current license issued by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners continue to be exempted from the Texas Railroad Commission LPG examination
  • Texas Railroad Commission's previous requirement for additional insurance has been eliminated. (The Plumbing License Law liability insurance requirements for Responsible Master Plumbers is still effective. Responsible Master Plumbers must include LPG plumbing coverage in the policy if the Responsible Master Plumber will perform LPG plumbing.)

Texas Railroad Commission LPG Rule

How to Register with Texas Railroad Commission